February Book Haul

I don’t have too many books, considering what several others haul each week. I have just started getting back into the swing of reading [hmm… although, I have borrowed some books from the library every now and then… scratch that] getting back into browsing bookstores and purchasing books. I’m a student and my income is limited, so I am not going to be hauling 10 books each week, especially if I have to buy them at full price! I figure over a month, 3-4 full priced books seems reasonable. As well, since my hauls will be pretty thin, I’ll be doing these posts most likely once a month.

Anyways, the book haul!

So I was browsing our local Chapters and Cinder by Marissa Meyer caught my eye and started this whole love of books over again. I could not resist purchasing it and totally loved it. [Review is here if you want to read.] Chapters always has great deals as well in the bargain section. And what did I find there but a hard-cover 1st edition of  Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld… for only $1! So I browsed the Scott Westerfeld section and found Behemoth, the second book to the Leviathan Trilogy. It was full priced and paperback (I like my series’ books to be consistent), BUT it was a signed edition So I bought that as well. Just the other day, I was looking around Chapters again and ended up picking up Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I’ve started reading it and it is so difficult to put down! Look for a review soon!

A few weeks ago, I stopped by the thrift shop near my house and looked through their bargain paperback books for $0.75 each. I ended up coming out with 4 books for only $3 total: The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth SteinOdalisque, by Fiona McIntosh, A Walk to Remember, by Nicholas Sparks, and Angels and Demons by Dan Brown. I have been meaning to pick up some Nicholas Sparks books and I’m glad I found this one. It’s a little beat up on the spine but I loved the movie and can’t wait to read it. When I bought Angels and Demons, I thought I didn’t have it [I knew I was missing one of the Robert Langdon books], but turns out I did. I’m now on the look out for The Lost Symbol!

Also, I signed up for GoodReads this month, I believe. I entered a few of their giveaways not expecting anything. But I ended up winning two non-fiction books [I really wasn’t very picky when I chose which book giveaways to enter]. I received The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg from Random House and The Power by Rhonda Byrne from Simon and Schuster Canada. Very interesting books. They can be boring if you aren’t into the informative type of readings, but they held fascinating facts and insights. I will be reviewing these two soon. So look for those as well.

Thats all for the month, folks! Let’s see what March brings!

~C

       

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

