Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol - a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.
Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she's afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she's not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol's cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can't prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

Rating: 

Cover Art: Loving the fiery colour and the token mockingjay on the front. Simple yet it works with the story itself.

Review:

[Book 2 in the Hunger Games Trilogy]

Can I just say ‘O-M-G’ and leave my mouth hanging open for a second?

Ahem. Excuse the internet slang and slack jawed moment, but this book is full of chapter endings and page turning scenes [and eventually the ultimate cliffhanger] that force your face into expressions such as these. I think what drew me in to this book was all the action-packed chapters, twists, and turns in the plot and character development. I could not put this book down and even if I had to I was literally dreaming about what would happen next.

The characters, both new and old, I am loving. Katniss, Peeta, and Gale are still, well… there. Not meant to sound disappointed. Their roles are the same, just some new additions to their story: Katniss is in heaps of trouble, Peeta’s along for the ride, and Gale’s developed into a much more rounded character. But as for the new characters that make their appearance, I just love the different personalities and conversations they have. They are so much fun and it makes going through the book an adventure where the reader can get attached to even these ‘minor’ characters. The relationships, glimpses into their back story, the dialogue, oh… essentially everything! And… I’m not sure what to think of the “triangle” thus far. It isn’t getting out of hand, that’s for sure, so I’ll leave it for now. I do have my own opinion as to who Katniss will end up with, but I’ll keep that to myself. And, I have to say, Finnick is awesome. That is all.

As for the story development… well who didn’t see that coming? Not the thing at the end, but ultimately the whole… thing. Anyways, if you read the book, you probably know what I’m talking about. I’m liking that it is going in this general direction and makes for the next book to be action-packed for sure. Catching Fire may start out a little slow, but it builds quickly and essentially stays in the ‘climax’ zone for much of the ending. I say the build up just makes the rest of the book that much more satisfying to read. No resolution to this book at the end, but I suppose that’s what Mockingjay is for.

~C

  1. thx ,great books …its realy great books

  1. April 9th, 2012

Leave a Reply

