Review: Spells by Aprilynne Pike

Six months have passed since Laurel saved the gateway to the faerie realm of Avalon. Now she must spend her summer there, honing her skills as a Fall faerie. But her human family and friends are still in mortal danger--and the gateway to Avalon is more compromised than ever.
When it comes time to protect those she loves, will she depend on David, her human boyfriend, for help? Or will she turn to Tamani, the electrifying faerie with whom her connection is undeniable?

    

Rating: ★★

Cover Art: Flowers are quaint and appropriate for the series. Like how the typeface of the title has a little glow to it.

Review:

[Book 2 in the Wings series]

Oh, what a different feeling from when I finished Wings, the first book in this series. I can’t quite place a particular moment when the book started going downhill for me, but I can point out a few [quite a few] moments where I was tempted to skim through text just to reach the end a little faster, if not to relieve my boredom.

First of all, the beginning was well done and piqued my interest. It starts off essentially where the last book left off. Laurel is off to Avalon to start her faerie training. This beginning was what kept me reading. It was different, fantasy-filled, and creative [guess those words can be seen as synonyms]. The world Pike built for the faeries was amazing. The class structure, the school, the familial structuring… I was impressed with almost everything. Even the ongoing love triangle didn’t bother me at this point in the story.

However, as soon as the main character went back to the “real world” the story just did not seem as interesting [huh, guess I do know when the downhill drive started]. There was a lot of conversations between girl and boy #1 then conversations between girl and boy #2. These conversations were not as character building as I would have liked. They were simply conversations that contained too much love/jealousy/angst to see anything built beyond that drama. The dialogue was boring and repetitive and I just wanted to skip over it. But! I absolutely love the character Chelsea. I hope to see more of her and her refreshing personality in the next book.

The action in Spells was not significant, I’m sad to say. The baddies were dispatched within a chapter and the introduction of the new character was a little unnecessary and seemed like an easy out, but maybe there’s more to that in the next book. Yes, I am planning on reading it [since I already have it]. I’m hoping it will be better than this one was.

~C

  1. May 10th, 2012

Leave a Reply

